The Mayor of Harrogate Borough

The Mayor is the chairman of the borough council and is the first citizen of the Borough of Harrogate.

He or she is appointed by the council each year, usually in May, and chairs meetings of the full council.

The Mayor represents the borough on ceremonial occasions, welcomes international visitors and attends events organised by local people and community groups. Each Mayor supports their chosen local charities throughout their term of office.

The Mayor also hosts formal and informal functions in the Mayor's parlour, the council chamber at the Civic Centre, St Luke's Mount (off King's Road), Harrogate or other venues, and welcomes groups for guided tours of the chamber and parlour. The tours include a brief presentation on the Mayor's work, the regalia and civic mace.

Contact the Mayor

  • by emailing
  • in writing to Mayoralty, PO Box 787, Harrogate, HG1 9RW or
  • by telephoning the Mayor's secretary on 01423 500600

Please only contact the Mayor if the matter is with reference to an engagement, other issues should be addressed through the report it section on our website.

To invite the Mayor to attend one of your events, fill in this form. If your group would like to have a guided tour of the civic offices, telephone the Mayor's secretary.

Invite the Mayor

Here is a list of all the Mayors of the borough since 1974.

Other Mayors in the district

In the area covered by Harrogate Borough Council, there are four other Mayors - Boroughbridge, Knaresborough, Pateley Bridge and Ripon.

Page last updated 02/12/2017